Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

McCullen santoku

Posted by dragonetti 
McCullen santoku
July 09, 2020 12:24AM
Well y'all. It's been a while.

It's been a while since I've visited this forum, and even longer since I've made a post or comment

For a bit of reference, I fell into the culinary field on a whim. Needed a job, turns out kitchens are always hiring. 5 years later I'm a fully fledged chef, life works in funny ways like that.

About 3 years ago I bought a knife from Jeremy McCullen, off of recommendations from this forum. Pretty much just because I wanted a cool knife to show off to people at the faux Mexican restaurant I worked at. And it worked great for that, and I was also cutting 30 gallons of onions at 8am every day, might as well do that in style.

6.5 inch santoku style knife, AEB-L in at a hardness I couldn't care less about, stabilized wood handle made out of a wood I couldn't care less about. That stuff isn't important, it just has to cut well and have a handle that doesn't absorb various meat and vegetable juices.

It delivered. It cut like a dream, took an edge easy off of whatever I could find at work to sharpen it with, and my head chef and the dishwasher who taught me clawhammer banjo offered to buy it from me for way more than I bought it for. A manager I worked with made me a fantastic leather sheath in exchange for a beat up guitar and a lesson to on how to play "hurt"
(Sheath is definitely worth more than that, the man is a fantastic cook but he's left handed and I sold him a right handed guitar, I'm sure he'll figure it out eventually.)

Things fall apart, and sometimes get rebuilt into something better. I found myself a Chef de Partie in arguably the best restaurant in a couple hundred miles.
Suddenly I had a burning need for a nice knife. And I'm all too lucky I had this McCullen santoku. (At my old job I found a dishwasher slicing strips off a sheet tray, with it, and took it home)