Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Naniwa 5000 grit stone; loads like lightning

Posted by ognennyy 
Naniwa 5000 grit stone; loads like lightning
July 22, 2018 02:06PM
I'm fairly new to water stone sharpening, or just knife sharpening in general. I'm sharpening a bark river Fox River Elmax (very hard steel it seems). I started with a 600 grit Naniwa Chosera and progressed through a 1000 Naniwa, 2000 Shapton pro, 3000 Naniwa Chosera, and trying to finish out with a 5000 grit Naniwa.

I understand that the higher grit a stone, naturally the faster that stone will load and metal will build up on the surface. You'd think that the hardness of 60-62 RC would mean metal would come off more slowly. But this Naniwa 5000 loads so fast it's just incredible. If I don't clean it every 30 seconds or so on my leveling stone, it just stops being effective because it's so loaded.

Has anyone else had this experience? Is the Naniwa 5000 indeed a fast loading stone, or is this just the case with all higher grit (5000+) stones? I can't imagine the later to be true. My 3000 grit Naniwa Chosera pretty much doesn't load at all, no matter how long you use it. Has anyone had experience with the Naniwa Chosera 5000 grit stone? It's pricey but if I can use it for more than a minute without needing to clean it due to loading I'll consider picking one up. How about Shapton 5000?

Thanks
Re: Naniwa 5000 grit stone; loads like lightning
July 22, 2018 02:31PM
ognennyy,
Try using a light slurry.

"Gotta love living in 2019 baby, (63rc too soft on a production knife)"
--Shawn Houston

"I am still discussing issues of steels and performance at this stage."
--Cliff Stamp

"Cause geometry cuts, .....steel determines the level and the duration"
--Roman Landes

"But in general, I'm all about high performance, Ergos, safety. That's why I've been accused of 'designing in the dark' "
--Sal Glesser
July 22, 2018 06:21PM
Hi Jason,